The Return

This post marks my return to the blog that I have forgotten about since last year. Remarkably, due to my ‘everything else’ I have neglected this nook in my life, until now.

2013 is a blur of music, mowing, school, and my struggle with my inner desires. But as I walk into 2013 I feel the presence of the Lord is encouraging to don’t give up. Never give in. When the going gets tough, the tough get going.

I studied poetry this past year and finished it. One poem that reminds me of my own struggles was one written by John Milton called, “On His Blindness.”  After reading it over and over, what really struck me about the entire thing was the first couple of lines. Milton being blind, struggled with his own faith many times. He could not see the beautiful earth God created, nor the people he met. He stumbled across roads, and had to ask for help many times. Yet, he pressed on despite his problems.

“When I consider how my light is spent,

Ere half my days in this dark world and wide,

And that one Talent which is death to hide,

Lodged with me, useless, though my soul more bent,

To serve my Maker…”

Here Milton went blind when he was a young man, while I can see. Even through his hard childhood, his life in London, and his blindness he still knew that “that one Talent which is death to hide” was to serve God with his whole heart. I can do no less. We as Christians can do no less. Psalm 54:4 says “Behold the Lord is my helper; the Lord is the sustainer of my soul.” And He is, if we let him. We must let Him take care of the big picture while we do our job day by day.

In Christ,

Caleb

Happy New Year

Categories: Happenings | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Return

  1. Great thoughts! “Even through his hard childhood, his life in London, and his blindness he still knew that “that one Talent which is death to hide” was to serve God with his whole heart. I can do no less.” <– love this! Milton's story is powerful.

  2. scouter14

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

