Easter

Oh what a glorious time of year! The birds are singing, the flowers are blooming, the grass is growing, and Easter has come upon us. Sometimes I can’t understand why people don’t get excited about Easter like I do. The death and resurrection of Christ fills me with a joy I can’t explain. Christ loved us SO much that he died for us! I just want to spread the word to all I meet.

Once I calmed down, I decided to find out about the meaning of the word Easter.

After doing some research, and writing, I managed to get the main gist. I give credit to the article linked below where you can find a much more detailed answer. Easter is not associated with pagan feasts or festivals. Instead, the translators of the Bible, Tyndale, Luther, and Wycliffe wrote that ‘ester’ or ‘Osterfast’ were their names for the Jewish Passover. Since Jesus’ birth, death, and resurrection Christians no longer celebrate Passover, instead we celebrate this holiday Easter.

But no matter where the name originated from, Easter is all about the Lamb of God. Jesus who died for our sins, and rose from the grace so that we may have life eternal with him. So as you recover from the Easter craziness, remember to give praise to the Risen King. Don’t forget to brush!

In Christ,

Caleb

(Notice how I slipped that little insinuation there at the end?) 🙂

 

http://www.answersingenesis.org/articles/2011/04/19/name-easter-pagan

Categories: Happenings | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Easter

  1. Huh! never knew that about the meaning of the word “Easter.” Haha, and yes I did notice that 😉

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

